Disaster Victim Relief

FEMA’s top 10 riskiest places, in addition to Los Angeles, are three counties in the New York City area — the Bronx, New York County (Manhattan), and Kings County (Brooklyn) — along with Miami, Philadelphia, Dallas, St. Louis and Riverside, and San Bernardino counties in California.

Multiple policy solutions went into effect to help our Disaster Victims.

Proposition 19 allows homeowners 55 years and older, people with severe disabilities, wildfire, or natural disaster victims to transfer their current property tax base to a replacement home anywhere in California.

The FHA 203(h) loan program provides up to 100% financing to help victims of disasters purchase new properties or rebuild after their homes have been significantly damaged or destroyed within a presidentially declared disaster area.

For your convenience, we provide changes made to the FAMC Disaster County List. This Disaster County List displays counties added, removed, or updated during the week ending January 21, 2021.

FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance is available to California to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by wildfires.

Disaster Policy Effective for Properties Impacted by California Wildfires (DR-4558)

Declaration Date: 08-22-2020

Incident Period: 08-14-2020 through 09-26-2020, except for additional damage resulting from the North Complex Fire

The counties eligible for Individual Assistance:

  • Butte
  • Lake
  • Lassen
  • Mendocino
  • Monterey
  • Napa
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Clara
  • Santa Cruz
  • Solano
  • Sonoma
  • Stanislaus
  • Trinity
  • Tulare
  • Yolo
  • Fresno
  • Los Angeles
  • Madera
  • San Bernardino
  • San Diego
  • Shasta
  • Siskiyou
  • Sonoma

UPDATE 11-13-2020: FEMA has added additional counties displayed above.

For the counties noted above, lenders require an inspection of the property to ensure the property has not sustained any damage.

Every mortgage agency loan provider other than FHA must perform a damage inspection after the Incident Start Period.

FHA loans require the inspection to be performed after the Incident Period End Date or 14 days from the Incident Period Start Date, whichever is earlier.

Disaster Victim Mortgage financing is a more complex program that offers various products to help you rebuild your home and your life.

Connect with us to piece everything back together again


AllRegs > Disaster Area Guidelines > Disaster Policy